May Releases of Note

Following are additional albums released during May 2015—some will be reviewed in future issues of Black Grooves.

Blues, Folk, Country
Earl Duke: Keep the Faith (Music Access Inc.)
Gangstagrass:  American Music (Rench Audio)
Junior Wells: Blues Is Alright (Rockbeat)
Madisen Ward and the Mama Bear: Skeleton Crew (Glassnote)
Mr. Sipp: The Mississippi Blues Child (compilation) Malaco
Otis Taylor: Hey Joe Opus/Red Meat (Trance Blues Festival )
Sugaray Rayford: Southside (Nimoy Sue)

Funk, Rock, Pop, Electronic
Actress: DJ-Kicks (!K7)
Charm Taylor: The Road Within EP
The Monkey Nuts: Boombap Idiophonics (digital) (BBE)
Tyondai Braxton: Hive 1 (Nonesuch)

Gospel, Gospel Rap, CCM
Brandon Estelle: Star LP (Pando)
Commissioned: Classic 3 (eOne)
James Grear & Co: It’s My Season (EchoPark/ JDI)
Mechelle Johnson: Urgent (Al-Go-Rhythm)
Patrick Hollis & United: New Season (Ecko)
Tina Campbell: It’s Personal (GeeTree Creative)
Various: The One-derful! Collection: The Halo Label (Secret Stash)
Zie’l: Zie’l (Dream)

Branford Marsalis Quartet: Coltrane’s A Love Supreme: Live In Amsterdam (Okeh)
Cannonball Adderley: Live in Cologne, 1961 (Delta)
Charlie Parker: Long Lost Bird Live Afro-Cubop Recordings (Rockbeat)
Clark Terry: Carnegie Blues, Music of Duke Ellington (Squatty Roo)
Curtis Fuller: The Opener (reissue) (Blue Note)
Henry Threadgill & Zooid: In a Penny for a Pound (PI Recordings)
Herbie Hancock & Headhunters: Omaha Civic Auditorium, 17th Nov. 1975 (Hi Hat)
JD Allen: Graffiti (Savant)
Lin Rountree: SoulFunky (Trippin’ & Rhythm)
Roberto Fonseco & Fatoumata Diawara: At Home – Live in Marciac (Jazz Village)
Sidney Bechet: French Movies (Moochin About)
Snarky Puppy & Metropole Orkest: Sylva (Impulse!/Universal)
Sun Ra: Duke Ellington’s Sound of Space (Squatty Roo)
Terence Blanchard: Breathless (Blue Note)
The Bad Plus & Joshua Redman: The Bad Plus Joshua Redman (Nonesuch)
Thelonius Monk: Complete Riverside Recordings (15 CD box)(Riverside)
Vincent Herring: Night and Day (Smoke Sessions)

R&B, Soul
Andreya Triana: Giants (Counter)
Billy Price and Otis Clay: This Time For Real (Bonedog)
Billy Stewart: Essential (Rockbeat)
Bunny Sigler: Bundino (Miles High Production)
Ciara: Jackie (Epic)
Clarence ‘Frogman’ Henry: Baby Ain’t That Love: Texas & Tennessee, 1964-74 (Ace)
Conya Doss: VII (Seven) (Conya Doss Songs)
Fats Domino: Imperial Singles Collection (Not Now)
Jamie Foxx: Hollywood: A Story of a Dozen Roses (RCA)
L. Young: Re Verb (Topnotch)
Labelle: Nightbirds (Audio Fidelity)
Maysa: Back 2 Love (Shanachie)
Richard Marks: Never Satisfied: Complete Works 1968-1983 (Now Again)
Saun & Starr: Look Closer (Daptone)
The Suffers: Make Some Room EP (Rhyme and Reason)
Trey Songz: Intermission I & II (Atlantic)

Rap, Hip Hop
Lil C: H-Town Chronic, Vol. 13 (Oarfin)
A$AP Rocky: At.Long.Last.A$AP (RCA)
Alchemist: Israeli Salad (ALC)
Bishop Nehru: Nehruvia: The Nehruvian EP  (Mass Appeal)
Boosie Badazz: Touch Down 2 Cause Hell (Atlantic)
Camp Lo: Ragtime Highlights (Nature Sounds)
Canibus: Time Flys, Life Dies… (Phoenix Rise)
Chief Keef: Feed the Streets (Black Market)
Dizzy Wright: The Growing Process  (Funk Volume)
Donnie Trumpet & The Social Experiment: Surf (digital)
eMC: The Tonight Show ( Penalty Ent.)
Frank Nitt: Frankie Rothstein (Fat Beats)
Gemstones: Blind Elephant (Xist)
Georgia Anne Muldrow: Thoughtiverse Unmarred (Mello Music Group)
Hodgie: American Dreamin (digital)  (Seventeen Hundred Ent.)
Hollow Tip: Bosses & Gangstas (Mercenary Ent.)
Joe Moses: Brakin (digital) (All Out Bosses Ent.)
Jsoul: The Purple Symphony (HiPNOTT)
Kool Keith: Total Orgasm (Junkadelic)
Krayzie Bone: Chasing the Devil (RBC)
Latrell James: Twelve (digital)
Murs: Have a Nice Life (Strange Music)
Oddisee: The Good Fight (Mello Music Group)
Rico Love: Turn the Lights On (Division1/Interscope)
Shamir: Rachet ( XL)
Snoop Dogg: Bush (Columbia)
STS x RJD2: STS x RJD2 ( RJ’s Electrical Connections)
Tech N9ne: Special Effects (Strange Music)
Troy Ave: Major Without a Deal (Empire)
Vursatyl: Crooked Straights (BBE)
William Cooper: God’s Will (Gemstarr Regime)

Reggae, Dancehall
Barrington Levy: Acousticalevy (Tafarai)
Linval Thompson: Strong Like Sampson (Hot Milk)
Santrofie: African Girls (YMR NIG)

World, Latin
Bassekou Kouyaté & Ngoni Ba: Ba Power (Glitterbeat)
ChocQuibTown: El Mismo (Sony U.S. Latin)
Dele Sosimi: You No Fit Touch Am  (Wah Wah)
Flavia Coelho: Mundo Meu (Mr Bongo)
Jumping Back Slash: Kanganga (Enchufada)
Mbongwana Star: From Kinshasa (Nonesuch)
Monoswezi: Monoswezi Yanga (Riverboat)
Nneka: My Favourite Fairy Tales (Bushqueen)
Thalles Roberto: Dios Me Ama (Universal/Motown Gospel)
Thomas Mapfumo: Lion Songs: Essential Tracks in the Making of Zimbabwe (Lion Songs)
Tribo Massahi: Estrelando Embaixandor (Goma Gringa)
Various: Putumayo Presents Afro-Caribbean Party (Putumayo)