January 2019 Black Music Releases of Note

Following are additional albums released during January 2019—some will be reviewed in future issues of Black Grooves.

Blues, Folk, Country
Gaye Adegbalola: The Griot (VizzTone)
Ma Rainey: Definitive Collection 1924-28 (Acrobat)
Willie Buck: Willie Buck Way (Delmark)

Florence Price: Symphonies 1 & 4 (Naxos American)
Various: Black Composer Series Complete Album Collection (Sony Classical)

Funk, Rock, Pop, Electronic
Axiom Funk: Funkcronomicon (2LP reissue) (Plain)
Bruce Marshall & Bill Thomas: S/T EP (vinyl) (Preservation Project)
HERO: Dirty Work EP (Fools Gold)
Rudimental: Toast to Our Differences (Atlantic)
Toro Y Moi: Outer Peace (Carpark)
Various: Funky Funky New Orleans, Vol. 6 (Tuff City)

Gospel, CCM, Christian Rap
Casey J: The Gathering (Integrity Music)
Mr. Del: Black (DMG)
Sensere: God, Family, The Band Vol. 1 (Intersound)
Various: Wow Gospel 2019 (RCA)

Angel Bat Dawid: The Oracle (International Anthem)
Antonio Sanchez & Migration: Lines In The Sand (Sunnnyside)
Bubbha Thomas & The Lightmen: Creative Music Complete Works (8LP Box) (Now Again)
Cannonball Adderley: Swingin’ in Seattle: Live at the Penthouse (1966-1967) (Reel To Real Recordings)
Dezron Douglas: Black Lion (Bandcamp)
Ellen Rowe: Momentum – Portraits of Women In Motion (Smokin’ Sleddog)
Eric Dolphy: Musical Prophet: Expanded 1963 New York Studio Sessions (Resonance)
Jazz Funk Soul: Life and Times (Shanachie)
Jeanne Lee & Ran Blake: The Newest Sound You Never Heard (A-Side Records)
Joe McPhee: Nation Time (Superior Viaduct/Forced Exposure)
Kamaal Williams: New Heights/Snitches Brew (Black Focus)
Neamen Lyles: Moment of Truth (Innervision)
Roscoe Mitchell / George Lewis: Voyage & Homecoming (RogueArt)
Snarky Puppy: Snarky Puppy 17 (4-LP) (Ground Up)
Tony Tixier: Life of Sensitive Creatures (Whirlwind Recordings)
Various: Jazz Salute to Black History Month (AAO Music)
Yonathan Avishai: Joys and Solitudes (ECM)

R&B, Soul
Benjamin Hey: Lax
Dame Drummer: Loveolution (Sweaty Llama Music)
Damien Sneed: We Shall Overcome (LeChateau Earl)
DAWN: New Breed (Local Action)
Orgone: Reasons (Killion Sound)
XamVolo: All the Sweetness on the Surface (Decca)

Rap, Hip Hop
8Ball & MJG: Classic Pimpin’ (live) (Push)
Aesop Rock: Malibu Ken (Rhymesayers)
Big K.R.I.T.: TDT
Boogie: Everythings For Sale (Interscope)
Comethazine: Bawskee 2 (Alamo)
Da Buze Bruvaz: Ni&$@tivity (vinyl)
Darnell Junior: Neophyte (SmokezUp)
King Dennis G: Hustler’s Dream
Retch:  Richer Than the Opps (Fastmoney)
Sneaks: Highway Hypnosis (Merge)
Soulja Boy: Fuego
Strick: See You When I Land (300 Ent.)
Top Notch: Ghetto Life (Marvel)
Trippie Redd: Love Letter To You 3 (TenThousand Projects)
YNW Melly: We All Shine EP

Gentleman’s Dub Club: Lost in Space (Easy Star)
Julian Marley: As I Am (Zojak World Wide)
Lee Scratch Perry: Revelation of Lee Scratch Perry (DVD) (Megawave)
Nattali Rize: Evolutionary (Bacco)

World, International
Akofa Akoussah: S/T (Mr. Bongo)
Amira Kheir: Mystic Dance (Stern’s Africa)
Dawda Jobarteh: I Met Her by the River (Stern’s Africa)
Douye: Quatro: Bossa Nova Deluxe (Oa2 Records)
Foday Musa Suso: Introducing the Suso/Philip Glass Quartet (Orange Mountain)
Te’Amir: Abyssinia & Abyssinia Rise (Tru-Thoughts)