February 2019 Black Music Releases of Note

Following are additional albums released during February 2019—some will be reviewed in future issues of Black Grooves.

Blues, Folk, Country
Adia Victoria: Silences (Atlantic)
Bloodest Saxophone: Texas Queens 5 (Vizz Tone)
Gary Clark Jr.: This Land (Warner Bros.)
J.S. Ondara: American Dream (Verve)
Leyla McCalla: The Capitalist Blues (Jazz Village/[PIAS])
Various: Blue Muse (25th Anniv. Book + CD) (Music Maker Relief Foundation)
Various: Rough Guide to Skip James (LP) (World Music Network)
Yola: Walk Through Fire (Easy Eye Sound)

Richard Thompson: The Mask in the Mirror – A Chamber Opera (Navona)

Funk, Rock, Pop, Electronic
Galactic: Already Ready Already (Tchoup-zilla)
Murray A. Lightburn: Hear Me Out (Dangerbird)
Skunk Anansie: 25Live@25 (Boogooyamma)
Terrence Parker: Something Here for the Club (Intangible)

Gospel, CCM
Gee’s Bend Quilters: Boykin, Alabama: Sacred Spirituals of Gee’s Bend (Dolceola)
Rosetta Tharpe: With The Tabernacle Choir (vinyl) (Down at Dawn)
The True Believers: Back to the Roots (4 Winds)
Thompson Community Singers: The Tommies Reunion (Tyscot)

Jeremy Pelt: The Artist (HighNote)
Alfredo Rodriguez & Pedrito Martinez: Duologue (Mack Avenue)
Alicia Olatuja: Intuition: Songs from the Minds of Women (Resilience Music)
Alvin Queen Trio: OP  a tribute to Oscar Peterson (Stunt)
Angel Bat Dawid: The Oracle (International Anthem)
Brent Birckhead: Birckhead (Revive Music)
Caesar Frazier: Closer To The Truth (Savant (ZYX))
Cecil Taylor: Mysteries:Untitled (Black Sun)
Chicago Soul Jazz Collective: Soulophone
Godwin Louis: Global
Hot 8 Brass Band: Take Cover EP (Tru Thoughts)
Isaac Edwards: Begin Again
James Brandon Lewis: An Unruly Manifesto  (Relative Pitch)
Norman Brown: The Highest Act of Love (Shanachie)
Ralph Alessi & Ravi Coltrane: Imaginary Friends (ECM)
Sun Ra: Monorails & Satelites: Works for Solo Piano Vol. 1-3 (Cosmic Myth)
Theon Cross: Fyah (Gearbox)

R&B, Soul
Aaron Abernathy: Epilogue (Aaron Abernathy Music)
Beldina: Black and Blond EP
Carvin Winans: In the Softest Way
Corneille: Parce qu’on aime (Wagram Music / W Lab)
Curtis Mayfield: Keep On Keeping On:  Studio Albums 1970-1974 (Rhino)
Geron: Tainted EP
Gladys Knight & the Pips: On and On: The Buddah/Columbia (Soul Music)
India.Arie: Worthy (BMG)
Johnny Mathis: I Love My Lady (Real Gone)
Mavis Staples: Live in London (Anti/Epitaph)
Nicole Willis & Banda Palomita: My Soul Sensation (Persephone)
Regina Belle: Show Me The Way: The Columbia Anthology (Soul Music)
Roses Gabor: Fantasy & Facts (AllPoints)
Soul Surfers: Tribute to J.B.’s (Ubiquity)

Rap, Hip Hop
1K Phew: What’s Understood (Reach)
ADÉ: Always Something (Epic)
Boston George & Slim Thug: Big Bad Boston & The Boss (Hogglife Ent.)
Casanova & 30Roc: Free At Last (Roc Nation)
Clear Soul Forces: Still (Fat Beats)
Crash Rarri: Ghetto (Ghetto 2outh2ID3 Worldwide)
Czarface & Ghostface Killah: Czarface meets Ghostface (Get On Down)
Dark Lo & V Don: Timeless (Get on Down)
Deniro Farrar: Re-up (CultRap)
Dreezy: Big Dreez (Interscope)
Fredo: Third Avenue (Sony Uk)
Fuse ODG: New Africa Nation (London Mobile Studios)
Future: Future Hndrxx – The WIZRD (Epic)
Gunna: Drip or Drown 2 (300 Ent.)
Offset: Father of 4 (Motown)
Papoose: Underrated (Empire)
Sean Price & Small Professor: 86 Witness (Duck Down Music)
Skyzoo: Theo vs. J. J. (Dreams vs. Reality)
Smif N Wessun: The All (Duck Down)
Statik Selektah & Termanology: Still 1982
Wiz Khalifa & Curren$y: 2009 (Atlantic)
Zion: Her, Her & You (Virgin EMI)

Beat / Ranking Roger: Public Confidential (DMF)
Dillinger: Marijuana In My Brain (LP reissue) (Radiation Roots)
Ken Boothe: Black, Gold & Green (LP reissue) (Real Gone)
Various: Reggae Mandela (VP)

World, International
Bassekou Kouyate & Ngoni Ba: Miri (Out Here/Forced Exposure)
Charlotte Adigéry: Zandoli EP (DeeWee)
Corneille: Parce Qu’On Aime (Wagram)
Dowdelin: Carnaval Odyssey (Underdog)
Frederico7: Exotico Americano
Fuse Odg: New African Nation (London Mobile Studios)
Jay Mitta: Tatizo Pes (NYEGE NYEGE TAPES)
Jeangu Macrooy: Horizon (Unexpected)
Kel Assouf: Black Tenere (Glitterbeat)
Nakhane: You Will Not Die (Dlx. Ed.) (BMG France)
Sir Shina Peters: Sewele (Strut)
Various: This Is Frafra Power (Makkum)
Various: Zombie Club presents Calypso Guapacha (Grosso Recordings)